News & Events‎ > ‎

Berne's group reunion 2018

What: reunion of Berne people on the occasion of Bruce Berne's Friedman Lecture at Brooklyn College

When:
Thursday, April 19th, 2018.

Where: Brooklyn College of CUNY, 2900 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11210-2889 directions Contact egallicchio@brooklyn.cuny.edu to reserve a parking permit if coming in by car. However, the subway, if feasible, is probably your best bet.

Friedman's Lecture Schedule (tentative): Thursday, April, 19th
10:00AM Welcome reception with light refreshments, snacks, coffee, etc (Penthouse of the Brooklyn College Student Center, 2705 Campus Rd)
10:30AM--12:30PM Graduate student talks (Penthouse of the Brooklyn College Student Center, 2705 Campus Rd)
01:00PM--2:00PM Friedman Lecture: Bruce Berne (Columbia University) "TBD" (Tangers' Auditorium, First Floor, Library Building)
02:30PM---04:30PM Reception, ceremonies, late lunch buffet (Penthouse of the Brooklyn College Student Center, 2705 Campus Rd)
(all locations within easy walking distance)
Evening plans: Dinner for sure. Probably in Manhattan. Suggestions on the venue, time, etc. are welcome.

Bruce Berne's mini-symposium: Friday, April 20th
Bruce wants us all at Columbia to hear what we are doing. We are thinking the morning of the day after the Friedman's lecture. Let's make it happen! Especially for the people who will be traveling long distance.

Organizers:
Emilio Gallicchio <egallicchio@brooklyn.cuny.edu>, Brooklyn College of CUNY
Tom Kurtzman <thomas.kurtzman@lehman.cuny.edu>, Lehman College of CUNY

Unofficial list of Berne's people: contact Emilio or Tom to add names to this list and to confirm your attendance of the events of April 19th and April 20th

 Name Affiliation E-mailWill attend Friedman Lecture on Thursday 4/19 (Brooklyn College)Will attend dinner on Thursday 4/19 eveningWill attend mini-symposium on Friday 4/20 at Columbia
 Bruce BerneColumbia U.  bb8@columbia.edu Yes Yes Yes
 Anders WallqvistDOE Biotechnology Institute awallqvist@bhsai.org   
 Art Cho  Korea University artcho@gmail.com   
 Balazs Hetenyi Bilkent University hetenyi@fen.bilkent.edu.tr   
 Claudio Margulis U. Iowa claudio-margulis@uiowa.edu   
 Dan Gezelter U. Notre Dame gezelter@nd.edu   
 Dave Thirumalai U. Maryland thirum@umd.edu   
 David Coker Boston U. coker@bu.edu   
 Ed Harder Schrödinger ed.harder@schrodinger.com Yes  
 Emilio Gallicchio Brooklyn Collegeegallicchio@brooklyn.cuny.edu   Yes  Yes  Yes
 Enrique Batista Los Alamos erb@lanl.gov   
 Eran Rabani Berkeley U. eran.rabani@berkeley.edu   
 François Amar U. Maine amar@maine.edu   
 Frauke Grater Shanghai Inst. frauke.graeter@gmail.com   
 Glenn Martyna IBM martyna@us.ibm.com   
 Goran Krilov Schrödinger goran.krilov@schrodinger.com Yes Yes 
 Harry Stern U. Rochester hstern2@ur.rochester.edu   
 Huafeng Xu DESRES huafeng@gmail.com   
 Jagannath Mondal TIFR Hyderabad jagannath.mondal@gmail.com   
 Jianshu Cao MIT jianshu@mit.edu   
 Joe Morrone IBM jamorron@us.ibm.com Yes  
 Joel Bader John Hopkins joel.bader@jhu.edu Yes (maybe only reception) Yes Yes
 John Montgomery U. Connecticutjohn.montgomery@uconn.edu    
 John Straub Boston U. straub@bu.edu Yes  
 Joseph Kushick Amherst jnkushick@amherst.edu Yes Yes 
 Lingle Wang Schrödinger lingle.wang@schrodinger.com   
 Mark Tuckerman NYU mark.tuckerman@nyu.edu Yes  Yes
 Martin Mueser U. Saarlandes martin.mueser@mx.uni-saarland.de   
 Marvin Bishop Manhattan College marvin.bishop@manhattan.edu   
 Michael New NASA michael.h.new@nasa.gov   
 Nelson De LeonIndiana U. NW  ndeleon@iun.edu   
 Piero Procacci  U. Florence piero.procacci@unifi.it   
 Pratyush Tiwary U. Maryland ptiwary@umd.edu Yes Yes Yes
 Randall Hall Lousiana State U. rhall@lsu.edu   
 Robert Q. Topper (Tuckerman) Cooper Union topper@cooper.edu Yes  Maybe
 Ruhong Zhou  IBM ruhongz@us.ibm.com   
 Sergei Egorov U. Virginia sae6z@virginia.edu Yes  
 Steve Rick  U. New Orleans srick@uno.edu   
 Steve Stuart Clemson U. ss@clemson.edu   
 Tom Kurtzman Lehman College thomas.kurtzman@lehman.cuny.edu Yes  
 Tom Markland Stanford U. tmarkland@stanford.edu  Maybe (red-eye from west coast!)
 Tova Adlerstein-Werblowsky Touro College (?) tovaw@touro.edu   
 Xuhui Huang Hong Kong U.  xuhuihuang@ust.hk   
 Zhonghan Hu Jilin University zhonghanhu@jlu.edu.cn   

Comments